Nearly Finished

Our “Down Under Crew” has been talking about going to check out the Kondallila Falls for ages, but it’s nearly impossible to get us all together with our busy schedules. We finally found a weekend that worked for us, but only two of us have cars. After squeezing four to the backseat of one of the tiniest cars I’ve ever been in, we made our way to Gardner Falls.

Although it wasn’t much of a hike, Gardner Falls has three rope swings that could keep you entertained for hours. Two of them are closer to the water, so there’s really nothing to be afraid of. However, the one up on the cliff looked to be the most adventurous. I attempted to be ballsy and climbed up there straightaway. A little 10-year-old who had jumped millions of times already that day said he would show me how its done.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0665.Gardner Falls

The rope swing had an old, metal bicycle handlebar tied to it, which should’ve made it easier to hang on to. I wouldn’t say I’m afraid of heights, but holy hell the water seemed so far away. After a few seconds of hesitation, I finally went for it. Lets just say, it didn’t go as planned. For those of you that I’m friends with on Facebook, I’m sure you’ve seen the video. For my parents and grandparents.. you probably don’t want to watch.

Thankfully, I came away just slightly bruised. I came up smiling, so the other girls wouldn’t be scared to try it. They were still horrified, so I had to go again to prove them wrong. The water was freezing, so we dried off and made our way to our next adventure.

Kondalilla Falls wasn’t really what I expected, but it was still beautiful. From the photos and videos I’ve seen, I thought there would be more rocks to jump off. We hiked all the way to the bottom and back up again in about two hours. We all jumped off the waterfall at least once, and then called it a day. It’s sad to say that was probably the last adventure we will all have as a whole group.

 opera-houseSydney Opera House

The following weekend, Tabitha and I made a quick trip to Sydney. Never in my life did I think I would say, “Yeah, I think I’m gonna go to Sydney, Australia for the weekend.” I’ve heard from many people that Melbourne is better than Sydney, but it was definitely worth seeing at least once. The first night was a bit dodgy because we tried to save money by staying in a hostel. The place was dirty, the bed was uncomfortable, and the girls we shared the room with looked like they had been living there for months.

We were able to cancel the room for the next two nights with no additional cost, and Tabitha’s mom treated us to a glorious stay at the Holiday Inn in Old Sydney. We were in the perfect location to be able to see all of the touristy things, a view of the Sydney Opera House, and it had a rooftop pool. We walked through the Botanical Gardens, strolled across the Sydney Harbour Bridge, and made a quick visit to Bondi Beach. We slept in and enjoyed one last swim on the roof before flying  back to Brisbane on Monday afternoon.

Since Tabitha had never been to Brisbane before, I gave her a night life tour of Ocean Street and the South Bank Parklands. My friend Tulio, that I met at Whitsundays, owns and DJs for the Down Under Bar in Brisbane. He asked us to come to his bar for supper & drinks and a meet & greet with the crew from the Jackass movie. It was definitely a weekend trip for the books!

brisbaneSouth Bank Parklands in Brisbane

Leave a Reply

