Byron Bay

We pulled into Byron Bay Friday evening, which gave us just enough time to dress up and pregame before going to Cheeky Monkey’s for the night. Cheeky Monkey’s is definitely not your “typical” Australian club. They serve amazing food until 9PM. Then the tables turn into the dance floors and everyone gets painted with bright neon colored paints.

cheeky-monkeys

After a long night of drinking, we had to wake up at 5:00AM to check-in for skydiving. The weather didn’t cooperate, even after 6 hours of waiting, so we headed back to the hostel. The group went on a tour to see the most easterly point of Australia as well as the lighthouse. It was misting rain the entire time, so it was less than enjoyable. I took a long four hour nap after the tour, and then went back to drinking all over again.

The hostel put on an Aussie BBQ for us and we played a few drinking games before heading to Woody’s. We didn’t dance on tables this time, but it was still a lot of fun. No matter where I go, I manage to meet people from different countries. This night in particular, I met some guys from England who were very good dancers.

I went to bed “early” that night at midnight, and was back up at 5:00AM. The weather was gorgeous on Sunday morning, which made the view all the more incredible. I was smiling ear to ear the entire time and my adrenaline rush lasted a solid 30 minutes after we landed.

group-skydive

I never planned on “jumping out of a perfectly good plane”, as my dad would say, but I honestly believe it was the most incredible experience I have ever had in my life. It’s not near as scary as one might believe, and what better view to see from 14,000 ft. than the beautiful Australian coast?

 

One thought on “Byron Bay

  1. Scott and I were at Byron Bay and the lighthouse! Beautiful place!!!
    So glad you are having the time of your life!! Guess that means Scotty was right in telling you to go to Auzzieland if you got the chance.

    Vicky

    Like

Leave a Reply

