O week

IMG_4964The entire week before classes begin is called O week or Orientation week. We kicked off the week with an Aussie BBQ on Sunday. The food was delightful and afterwards we split into groups to tour the campus. I finally saw my first kangaroo! They are so quiet and can really sneak up on you.

USC is much smaller than UND. There are only like two rows of buildings, so it’s really easy to find your way around. Sunday night was my first time out at O’Malley’s pub, which is already my favorite pub to go to. (I’ve also been to both the old and new Solbar and the Helm.)

On Monday we had a mandatory meeting for all of the international students. They provided some really helpful information, but it lasted almost two hours. On Tuesday they held a market filled with all of the different groups or clubs you can join. I signed up for anything that had to do with traveling and exploring Australia!

I spent the last three days of the week exploring the area. I’ve been to different beaches and a new hike each day. Noosa National Park has hiking trails that are right along the coast. The water and beaches are gorgeous, and the trail ends at “Hells Gate” (See Header Image). I’ve also hiked Mt. Coolum and Mt. Ngungun. They are smaller mountains (between 200-250 m), but you climb pretty much straight up. It’s a great little workout, and the view is worth the climb! My pictures hardly do it justice.

IMG_4989

I’ve drank too much for too long every night this week, but I’ve loved every second of it. The Helm has had a theme night every night this week and nearly everyone dresses up for them. I can’t even count how many new people I’ve met and from all over the world! There are heaps (Australian talk) of Scandinavians here. I’ve met Norwegians, Sweds, Germans, Africans, Americans, Australians, etc. And yet somehow, I still meet new people the next night out. The environment at USC is incredible. Anyone and everyone is welcome to join in on the fun.

One thought on “O week

Leave a Reply

